Until the next time . . .

It would seem that the prodigious output from the very talented Oliver Tidy has hit a hiatus.  Sadly, he has to  prioritise other things for the time being, but hopefully he will be back at his laptop before too long.   For the time being, I wish him well with what he currently needs to accomplish and look forward to the blooming of the literary things he currently has in hand.

In the meantime, here is my review of Poor Hands the last book he published – 2 days ago:

 

Poor Hands.

I have been waiting patiently for this book to be published; it has been subject to an unconscionable delay although not the author’s fault so he must be forgiven. Oliver Tidy has, once again, produced a brilliant tale to lose oneself in!

I love these two characters although I was a little surprised at Jo’s summation of David Booker’s character but I suppose she knows him better than we readers do. I enjoy their interactions and the way they spark off each other. Their friendship is deep, knowing and comfortable, despite David’s unrequited love. Those little moments when Jo says or does something which momentarily raises his hopes, only to squash them like a fly under a newspaper within minutes, are quite piquant. Although I hope that they never do form a romantic relationship, the bond between them puts me in mind of a Yorkshire saying (about romantic relationships) “they would both spoil another pair”

This book goes through the whole range of the human condition, from love, in all its forms, compassion, generosity, humour, to greed, depravity, violence, murder and selfishness in so many different forms. Out of all of those things, it is the compassion and generosity which give it its character and make it stand out from many other examples of this genre. Even the Kent police manage a more positive representation than they have in the preceding books in this series.

I started to laugh right at the very beginning with the explanation of the Kentish Man as opposed to a Man of Kent on pages 2&3. Even though I knew the difference. I had never heard it explained in quite that way! The humour continued throughout the book and I guess Jo has perfected the art of rolling her eyes to the highest degree.

I have enjoyed all the books in this series but I think this one has to be my favourite for all the reasons given. I have read the whole thing in an evening and have enjoyed its company through a difficult night.

Leave a comment